Have a Drink, Let’s Talk Religion

Spiritual conversations over a drink are actually becoming more common these days. They just might help a younger audience think religion is cool.

I drank my first beer while discussing the religious life of Kenya. (Ah, I miss a Tusker baridi.) However, as a United Methodist with family connections to the Women’s Christian Temperance Union, I cannot help but think about the limits we need to place on alcohol use.

Scripture is full of statements saying how drunkenness leads to many problems (Proverbs 20:1; Isaiah 5:11-15; 28:7). However, it also shows the value of wine during weddings and religious ceremonies (John 2; Luke 22:15-18). But even if I don’t drink to excess, I agree with Paul that if my partaking of something leads another into sin, I would rather abstain (1 Corinthians 8). Thus, I don’t drink much in public and support the policies of many United Methodist churches and agencies to prohibit alcohol use in their events.

Even so, I want to reach out to those who may think such blanket prohibitions are reasons to stay away. If having a conversation about faith at the bar can bring someone into a life with Christ, I want to be there. After all, this may be a way to help someone move away from being drunk on a drink and instead be intoxicated by the Spirit (Isaiah 29:9). Praise God!

Leave a Reply

