Renewing of the Writing

It is hard to believe that I’ve gone seven years without writing on this blog. At one point in time, I wanted to create a daddy blog to track my reflections on fatherhood. However, it was in becoming a father that derailed my regular habit of writing.

This is not a bad thing. Being a father is much more important to me than being a writer. I would rather be there for my daughter than be tucked away in front of a computer typing words that are devoid of the actual care I have for my family and my faith.

Nevertheless, we are now in a time of pandemic, and there is less connection with the world outside of one’s house. Typing out my thoughts is one way I can reach beyond myself and to get out those reflections that need a greater audience.

I do not yet know where I will go from here or how often I will write, but I do know that I need to express myself and I am finding the time and method to do it.

It is the first day of Daylight Savings Time, and I’m sitting here as the morning light grows. I give thanks for the light, I give thanks for this time off for spring break and I give thanks for all that renews and strengthens our lives and our faith.

Leave a comment